Stop the Importation of Radioactive Waste


Already, the Governors of Utah and Wyoming, a regional oversight committee and thousands of citizens have spoken out against EnergySolutions' proposal.

It is clear that it was never the intent of state or federal law to allow for the disposal of foreign nuclear waste in the U.S., but EnergySolutions is exposing a loophole that could allow for this to happen and open the door for much more to come.

Luckily, Reps. Gordon (TN), Whitfield (KY) and Matheson (UT) have introduced HR 5632. The bill closes this loophole, protects us from the unnecessary risks of importing nuclear waste from around the world, and preserves our ability to handle the uncertainties of our own nuclear waste disposal needs. However, the bill isn't going anywhere unless we all back it loudly and clearly. Please call your Representative today and demand that he/she supports HR 5632, and works to get this bill to the House floor and on to the Senate.

HR 5632 will be voted on Tuesday, May 20th in the Energy and Air Quality Subcommittee. 

Please call your representative on the subcommittee and then send us a note to let us know who you called.  Thank You

Members of the Energy and Air Quality Subcommittee:

Mike Ross, AR  202-225-3772

John B. Shadegg, AZ 202-225-3361

Henry A. Waxman, CA 202-225-3976

Jane Harman, CA 202-225-8220

Mary Bono Mack,CA 202-225-5330

John Barrow, GA 202-225-2823

John Shimkus, IL 202-225-5271

Ed Whitfield, KY 202-225-3115

Charlie Melancon, LA 202-225-4031

Edward J. Markey, MA 202-225-2836

Tom Allen, ME 202-225-6116

Mike Rogers, MI 202-225-4872

Fred Upton, MI, Ranking Member 202-225-3761

Charles W. "Chip" Pickering, MS 202-225-5031

G. K. Butterfield, NC, Vice Chair 202-225-3101

Sue Wilkins Myrick, NC 202-225-1976

Anthony D. Weiner, NY 202-225-6616

John Sullivan, OK 202-225-2211

Darlene Hooley, OR 202-225-5711

Greg Walden, OR 202-225-6730

Roy Blunt, MO 202-225-6536

Mike Doyle, PA 202-225-2135

Marsha Blackburn, TN 202-225-2811

Charles A. Gonzalez, TX 202-225-3236

Ralph M. Hall, TX 202-225-6673

Michael C. Burgess, TX 202-225-7772
Joe Barton, TX (Ex Officio) 202-225-2002

Jim Matheson, UT 202-225-3011

Rick Boucher, VA, Chairman 202-225-3861

Jay Inslee, WA 202-225-6311

Tammy Baldwin, WI 202-225-2906

December 13, 2018


Dear Public Citizen

We will add your signature from the information you provide.

© Public Citizen. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation. Learn more about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.