Sign the Petition: Tell PBS to Stop Marketing for Chick-fil-A on Martha Speaks

Public Television Should Not Promote Fast Food to Children

Fast food chain Chick-fil-A has distributed 56 million kids meals in bags co-branded with PBS’s popular Martha Speaks children’s show.

PBS’s agreement with Chick-fil-A allowing it to directly target kids is a bad move. Children shouldn’t be targets of advertising, especially for products that contribute to childhood obesity. To make matters worse, WGBH, the PBS station that produces Martha Speaks, is trying to win a Cynopsis advertising industry award for its campaign.

We’re big fans of public broadcasting. It provides parents and kids with an alternative to commercialized television stations. But PBS can do better than allowing a children's show to be a marketing vehicle for fast food. That's nothing to celebrate.

Our petition calls for PBS and WGBH to take the following two actions:
1. PBS should end its partnership with Chick-fil-A.
2. WGBH should withdraw from the Cynopsis awards.

Let’s keep PBS as a refuge for kids from the commercial networks.

Add Your Name to the Petition Below

We, the undersigned, call on PBS Kids and WGBH to end its partnership with Chick-fil-A. We call on WGBH to withdraw from the Cynopsis Kids Marketing Awards. Advertising unhealthy foods to kids has serious health consequences; it’s nothing to celebrate. We demand that PBS and WGBH stop allowing Chick-fil-A to use the popular kids TV show Martha Speaks to directly target children.

Optional Member Code


1-25 of 5535 signatures
Number Date Name Location Add a Comment
5535 Wed Apr 27 12:56:00 EDT 2016 Adam Kahn O'Fallon, MO
5534 Tue Apr 26 07:15:37 EDT 2016 joe demarco nunda, NY
5533 Tue Apr 05 09:14:32 EDT 2016 louis alves snaville, GA
5532 Wed Mar 30 11:54:58 EDT 2016 Deborah Cahill Jacksonville Beach, FL
5531 Fri Mar 18 19:20:09 EDT 2016 Brandon Danaher Blue Springs, MO
5530 Thu Mar 17 10:57:42 EDT 2016 Scott Seppi Hilliard, OH
5529 Sun Mar 13 14:32:18 EDT 2016 Conrad Melton Sun City, CA
5528 Wed Mar 09 08:54:31 EST 2016 Anonymous snaville, GA
5527 Wed Mar 09 08:54:06 EST 2016 Anonymous snaville, GA
5526 Mon Mar 07 09:45:51 EST 2016 patricia argoff loudonville, NY
5525 Mon Mar 07 09:45:43 EST 2016 patricia argoff loudonville, NY
5524 Tue Mar 01 15:36:34 EST 2016 Anonymous Sweet Home, OR
5523 Fri Feb 26 14:40:26 EST 2016 Rebecca Kahn Rockville, MD
5522 Thu Feb 25 19:43:32 EST 2016 Anonymous Sebastian, FL
5521 Thu Feb 25 03:06:16 EST 2016 Arthur Haynes Minneapolis, NJ
5520 Thu Feb 25 03:03:50 EST 2016 Arthur Haynes Minneapolis, NJ
5519 Mon Feb 22 06:45:23 EST 2016 Otis Hemmings Bronx, NY Educate and keep the public healthy. H.I.M...
5518 Wed Feb 10 12:28:55 EST 2016 Jason Phelps Detroit, MI
5517 Tue Feb 09 16:12:40 EST 2016 Stephen Cantu McAllen, TX
5516 Tue Feb 09 12:10:22 EST 2016 Mike Turner denver, CO
5515 Mon Feb 08 18:22:17 EST 2016 Patricia DeLuca Nokomis, FL
5514 Mon Feb 08 17:27:41 EST 2016 Nancy Bell Boulder Creek, CA
5513 Sun Feb 07 00:17:40 EST 2016 Dawn Rossiter Fredericksburg, VA
5512 Fri Jan 29 11:49:42 EST 2016 susan morris philadelphia, PA
5511 Fri Jan 15 15:12:39 EST 2016 Maureen LaParo Jersey City, NJ
Next ->

Spread the Word

Learn More

Join Our Social Networks