Keep Public Spaces Free of Commercialism

Tell your stories about the sale of advertising or naming rights in your community

Faced with budget shortfalls, cities and states are offering public spaces up to corporate America’s marketers, hoping for a quick buck. Across the country, plans are in the works to sell advertising on bridges, tunnels, fire trucks, schools and just about every other type of public space. Sites that belong to the public—that embody public values and reflect shared histories—are becoming nothing more than billboards.

Even though public officials often claim that they desperately need the added revenue, these schemes rarely bring in significant revenue. For example, advertising in schools often generates just a tiny fraction of one percent of district budgets.

Is your city for sale? Is your state up for grabs to the highest bidder? Post your stories about the sale of advertising or naming rights in your community’s public spaces, such as parks, roads, bridges, schools, emergency vehicles, etc.

Once you’ve shared your story, find out how you can take action in your community to resist this dangerous trend.

Add your story below

Be sure to include the name of the city, state, or other public entity to which you are referring.

Optional Member Code

1-25 of 133 signatures
Number Date Name Location Share your story
133 Tue Oct 18 20:05:19 EDT 2016 Anonymous Riverside, CA
132 Wed Sep 21 19:23:49 EDT 2016 S. Nam New York, NY
131 Tue Sep 20 08:35:22 EDT 2016 Lana Lorenzen SAINT GEORGE, UT
130 Fri Sep 16 11:52:51 EDT 2016 Anonymous Cleveland, TN The SE TN N GA historic, areas in and around the Apison, E. Brainerd, E. Hamilton, Summit, Collegedale,Harrison Bay State park, Ooltewah, McDonald, Lebanon, Flint Springs, Old Lead Mine Valley, Blue Springs, More....
129 Sat Aug 27 22:24:07 EDT 2016 Dr J L Underfer toledo, OH The whole government has been sold to Big Business.
128 Thu Aug 25 19:27:54 EDT 2016 Gen Agustsson redondo beach, CA reading ads were too much for me
127 Sat Aug 20 10:31:10 EDT 2016 Elizabeth Beattie Brookline, MA All public lands should be free of commercial marketing and advertisements. We need to protect and expand this shared common space.
126 Sat Jul 09 14:09:14 EDT 2016 Debra Cohn La Canada Flintridge, CA
125 Sun Jul 03 23:40:29 EDT 2016 John Hays Gainesville, FL All over Florida, under the leadership of that NeoLiberal icon, Rick Scott, the state allows Geico, for example, to advertise via public road signs along interstates and various rest stops throughout the More....
124 Mon Jun 06 21:08:30 EDT 2016 Oliver Dickerson Long Island City, NY
123 Tue May 31 13:15:57 EDT 2016 Carmen Alvarado Burke, VA
122 Tue May 31 13:15:57 EDT 2016 Carmen Alvarado Burke, VA
121 Mon May 23 08:23:39 EDT 2016 Anonymous Greensboro, NC I See Ad Council Billboard.
120 Mon May 23 08:22:56 EDT 2016 Anonymous Greensboro, NC I see billboard.
119 Sun May 22 15:54:30 EDT 2016 Allan Clarke Austin, TX
118 Tue May 17 16:03:16 EDT 2016 Anonymous Cape Canaveral, FL
117 Fri May 13 04:08:18 EDT 2016 Refik Osmanovic Portland, OR
116 Tue May 10 09:19:42 EDT 2016 Robert McFarland Steubenville, OH The U.S. started the national park program, start selling the naming rights and next sell the parks. This is insane, stop this madness.
115 Wed Mar 30 11:55:59 EDT 2016 Deborah Cahill Jacksonville Beach, FL
114 Sat Mar 19 12:01:15 EDT 2016 Anonymous Cleveland, TN We need our historic areas and lands in SE TN, N GA areas such as Apison, E. Brainerd, E. Hamilton, Summit, Collegedale, Harrison Bay State park and into Ooltewah, McDonald, Lebanon, Flint Springs, Blue More....
113 Fri Mar 18 19:23:57 EDT 2016 Brandon Danaher Blue Springs, MO
112 Fri Feb 26 14:44:34 EST 2016 Rebecca Kahn Derwood, MD
111 Wed Feb 10 12:32:05 EST 2016 Jason Phelps Detroit, MI
110 Thu Jan 07 06:57:23 EST 2016 roxie schliesmann holmen, WI Holmen, Wisconsin and this whole county has been sold out by Gov Walker since 2011.. corruption at the highest level
109 Thu Nov 12 03:44:34 EST 2015 C McGee Los Angeles, CA
Next ->

Spread the Word

Learn More