Gather Signatures on Election Day to Overturn Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission

Sign up to gather signatures at your polling place on Election Day to move forward a constitutional amendment to overturn Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission, take democracy off the auction block and preserve constitutional rights for people not corporations. Resources to support your petitioning are available here.

Check the box below if you can invite others to join you petitioning on Election Day.

We hope you will be able to make the optional video conference/ conference call today, Thursday, November 1, at 8 p.m. Eastern Time (7 p.m. Central / 6 p.m. Mountain / 5 p.m. Pacific / 4 p.m. Alaska / 2 p.m. Hawaii) will give you tips and get folks excited to go out and petition. We will send you information on how to watch or listen when you sign up.

Optional Member Code

Copyright © 2014 Public Citizen. All rights reserved. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation.
Learn More about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.


Public Citizen, Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation

Together, two separate corporate entities called Public Citizen, Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation, Inc., form Public Citizen. Both entities are part of the same overall organization, and this Web site refers to the two organizations collectively as Public Citizen.

Although the work of the two components overlaps, some activities are done by one component and not the other. The primary distinction is with respect to lobbying activity. Public Citizen, Inc., an IRS § 501(c)(4) entity, lobbies Congress to advance Public Citizen’s mission of protecting public health and safety, advancing government transparency, and urging corporate accountability. Public Citizen Foundation, however, is an IRS § 501(c)(3) organization. Accordingly, its ability to engage in lobbying is limited by federal law, but it may receive donations that are tax-deductible by the contributor. Public Citizen Inc. does most of the lobbying activity discussed on the Public Citizen Web site. Public Citizen Foundation performs most of the litigation and education activities discussed on the Web site.

You may make a contribution to Public Citizen, Inc., Public Citizen Foundation, or both. Contributions to both organizations are used to support our public interest work. However, each Public Citizen component will use only the funds contributed directly to it to carry out the activities it conducts as part of Public Citizen’s mission. Only gifts to the Foundation are tax-deductible. Individuals who want to join Public Citizen should make a contribution to Public Citizen, Inc., which will not be tax deductible.

To become a member of Public Citizen, click here.
To become a member and make an additional tax-deductible donation to Public Citizen Foundation, click here.