Don’t Let Wall Street Offshore Its Recklessness

Urge the Commodity Futures Trading Commission to Keep Risky Derivatives Trades in Check, No Matter Where They Occur

Some of Wall Street’s most reckless and risky gambling occurs in the global derivatives market.

The Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is readying to crack down on this reckless gambling – but Wall Street lobbyists are demanding loopholes that will make the new regulations virtually meaningless.

CFTC commissioners wrote strong rules to prevent Wall Street from engaging in risky transactions that could jeopardize our country’s financial security, no matter where in the world those transactions happen. But Wall Street – with help from foreign banks and foreign regulators – is pushing for rules that would, in effect, limit the scope of US enforcement to derivatives traders physically based in this country.

This would create a giant loophole that would encourage banks – the biggest of which already have major operations outside of the U.S. – to move transactions offshore to escape regulation.

Urge the CFTC to oppose Wall Street’s recklessness-offshoring loophole.

Petition to the Commodity Futures Trading Commission


We, the undersigned, urge you to stand up for rules that apply the transparency and safety requirements of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street reform act to ALL derivatives transactions relevant to U.S. markets, regardless of whether these transactions are routed through a foreign subsidiary or entity.

Spread the Word

share on Facebook

Join Our Social Networks

This petition is no longer active.
1-25 of 16148 signatures
Number Date Name Add a Comment
16148 Sat Nov 02 23:51:04 EDT 2013 Jolene Rutherford Will this criminal behavior never end? Has no one noticed that it amounts to treason - depending on how you look at it?
It's the unscrupulous wealthy of this country that are sucking welfare out of More....
16147 Fri Sep 27 14:42:39 EDT 2013 David Cotner
16146 Mon Sep 09 09:55:52 EDT 2013 Ken Gale American corporations should support American laws, not violate them "legally."
16145 Sat Jul 13 19:05:16 EDT 2013 Carlos Echevarria
16144 Fri Jun 28 22:58:25 EDT 2013 Anthony Hamilton
16143 Fri May 03 15:39:21 EDT 2013 Wendy S Dabney
16142 Sun Apr 28 16:36:31 EDT 2013 Amanda LEWIS
16141 Sat Apr 27 00:50:59 EDT 2013 Terry Arndt
16140 Sun Apr 21 13:45:30 EDT 2013 Dan Aurian-Blajeni
16139 Sat Apr 20 15:17:55 EDT 2013 Michael Hill
16138 Sun Apr 07 09:41:16 EDT 2013 Brian Smith
16137 Sat Apr 06 22:49:19 EDT 2013 Janice Foss
16136 Sat Apr 06 16:50:18 EDT 2013 Ardeth L. Weed
16135 Thu Apr 04 20:56:10 EDT 2013 Steven
16134 Tue Apr 02 21:23:00 EDT 2013 Tami Linder
16133 Mon Apr 01 17:30:20 EDT 2013 Michael Hill
16132 Sun Mar 31 14:22:25 EDT 2013 Linda Brebner
16131 Thu Mar 28 16:34:27 EDT 2013 Janis Todd
16130 Tue Mar 26 19:27:09 EDT 2013 Marian Seagren Hall The taxpayers are tired of paying the way for the wealthy.
16129 Tue Mar 26 17:01:17 EDT 2013 Anonymous
16128 Mon Mar 25 18:36:53 EDT 2013 Jacki Hunter
16127 Sun Mar 24 14:01:11 EDT 2013 Lawrence Merlino
16126 Sat Mar 23 18:36:11 EDT 2013 Anonymous Find another way to handle banking and currency, and be quick about it, before these greedy evildoers completely collapse the whole system.
16125 Fri Mar 22 18:00:15 EDT 2013 Cheryl Carney
16124 Fri Mar 22 14:35:04 EDT 2013 Lawrence Grasso Stop the speculation!
Next ->