Sign the Petition: Tell PBS to Stop Marketing for Chick-fil-A on Martha Speaks

Public Television Should Not Promote Fast Food to Children

Fast food chain Chick-fil-A has distributed 56 million kids meals in bags co-branded with PBS’s popular Martha Speaks children’s show.

PBS’s agreement with Chick-fil-A allowing it to directly target kids is a bad move. Children shouldn’t be targets of advertising, especially for products that contribute to childhood obesity. To make matters worse, WGBH, the PBS station that produces Martha Speaks, is trying to win a Cynopsis advertising industry award for its campaign.

We’re big fans of public broadcasting. It provides parents and kids with an alternative to commercialized television stations. But PBS can do better than allowing a children's show to be a marketing vehicle for fast food. That's nothing to celebrate.

Our petition calls for PBS and WGBH to take the following two actions:
1. PBS should end its partnership with Chick-fil-A.
2. WGBH should withdraw from the Cynopsis awards.

Let’s keep PBS as a refuge for kids from the commercial networks.

Add Your Name to the Petition Below

We, the undersigned, call on PBS Kids and WGBH to end its partnership with Chick-fil-A. We call on WGBH to withdraw from the Cynopsis Kids Marketing Awards. Advertising unhealthy foods to kids has serious health consequences; it’s nothing to celebrate. We demand that PBS and WGBH stop allowing Chick-fil-A to use the popular kids TV show Martha Speaks to directly target children.

This petition is no longer active.
176-200 of 5633 signatures
Number Date Name Location Add a Comment
5458 Thu May 07 18:13:41 EDT 2015 Sri Maddukuri Leonia, NJ Rand Paul FTW! Register Republican in your home state and get involved in the Republican Primaries. THAT is where the real election will occur. Let's get this guy past lifelong sellouts like Jeb Bush More....
5457 Sun May 03 04:47:06 EDT 2015 Joel B. Somers Point, NJ
5456 Sat May 02 00:11:51 EDT 2015 Anonymous San Marcos, CA
5455 Tue Apr 28 12:00:11 EDT 2015 Manijeh Saba Somerset, NJ
5454 Tue Apr 28 10:43:38 EDT 2015 Scott Seppi Hilliard, OH
5453 Wed Apr 22 15:31:07 EDT 2015 Jon Nelson New York, NY
5452 Mon Apr 06 20:15:05 EDT 2015 Andrew Benton Blue Bell, PA
5451 Fri Apr 03 00:09:39 EDT 2015 Hilary Buys Salem, OR
5450 Wed Apr 01 14:40:46 EDT 2015 Elizabeth Scoble Napa, CA
5449 Wed Apr 01 08:34:42 EDT 2015 Douglas Hoffner Henderson, NV
5448 Fri Mar 27 19:43:33 EDT 2015 Merewyn Fowler Conway, AR
5447 Mon Mar 16 15:30:02 EDT 2015 Donna Netusil Old Tappan, NJ
5446 Mon Mar 16 10:55:00 EDT 2015 Anonymous CA FOOD can transform our character rather than changes our environment or our inside body system. Many psicological misconduct are related with FOOD. see what happend into the jail.
5445 Wed Mar 11 19:54:51 EDT 2015 Cheng OR
5444 Tue Mar 10 18:58:35 EDT 2015 Clifford Browne Claremore, OK It is PUBLIC BROADCASTING CORPORATION. A bigoted corporation like Chick-Fil-A is OVERSTEPPING THEIR BOUNDS.
5443 Mon Mar 09 01:59:36 EDT 2015 Michael Sullivan San Diego, CA
5442 Sun Mar 08 17:53:05 EDT 2015 Deborah Efron Bellevue, WA
5441 Fri Mar 06 03:03:17 EST 2015 Christopher Pringer Seattle, WA
5440 Wed Mar 04 21:04:13 EST 2015 Mark Wm. Therrien Stockbridge, MA
5439 Wed Mar 04 21:02:07 EST 2015 Mark Wm. Therrien Stockbridge, MA
5438 Wed Feb 25 22:44:05 EST 2015 JANINE STOKES riverside, CA
5437 Mon Feb 23 21:08:33 EST 2015 Ellen Jamieson Leonia, NJ
5436 Sat Feb 21 22:05:04 EST 2015 Ashley Bostyan Rochester, MN
5435 Sat Feb 21 15:25:59 EST 2015 Carmen Alvarado Burke, VA
5434 Sat Feb 21 15:15:04 EST 2015 Carmen Alvarado Burke, VA
<- Prev Next ->

Spread the Word

Learn More

Join Our Social Networks