Sign the Petition: Tell School Districts to Keep Commercial Advertising Out of Schools

Let’s Get Back to Commercial-Free Schools

Across the country, many school districts face significant budget shortfalls. Seeking alternative sources of revenue, growing numbers of districts are allowing corporations to advertise on school properties. Eager to target a potentially lucrative market, advertisers are marketing their products in school cafeterias, athletic stadiums, on school buses, on lockers, and even in classrooms.

Schools are no place for advertising. Allowing commercialism to infiltrate schools undermines their educational mission. Kids learn market values instead of civic values. And, often, it is junk food makers that are most eager to advertise in schools. In an already hyper-commercialized world, children need schools to be a sanctuary from the onslaught of advertising they face everywhere else.

To make matters worse, in-school advertising schemes rarely raise significant revenue for school districts. When they permit advertising, districts are left in the same financial hole they began in, but now their students’ education has been compromised.

Some things shouldn’t be for sale.

Add Your Name to the Petition Below

When you sign our petition, we’ll keep you posted on how you can take action in your community to stop school commercialism.

We, the undersigned, believe that commercial advertising has no place in schools. We call on school district officials to reject all plans to allow commercial advertising on school properties.

Spread the Word



Learn More

Join Our Social Networks


This petition is no longer active.
51-75 of 15530 signatures
Number Date Name Location Add a Comment
15480 Thu Nov 21 12:50:05 EST 2013 Shelley Rio Rancho, NM
15479 Thu Nov 21 12:44:17 EST 2013 Michi VOJTA Raleigh, NC Children should not be force fed advertising, even if it means more money for the schools. That is no way to raise children.
15478 Thu Nov 21 12:40:44 EST 2013 David Ferger Southfield, MI
15477 Wed Nov 13 15:57:07 EST 2013 Peter Supersano Reno, NV
15476 Tue Oct 29 14:56:19 EDT 2013 Anonymous wister, OK I believe school should be a safe place from corrupt advertisement
15475 Mon Oct 28 15:13:21 EDT 2013 Anonymous wister, OK
15474 Tue Oct 22 18:40:44 EDT 2013 Anonymous detroit, MI
15473 Sat Aug 31 12:43:27 EDT 2013 Robert A. Mertz Spencer, WV As a teacher with 31 years of experience in Public schools, I know that we need to keep advertisments and these lists out of our schools
15472 Sun Mar 24 12:30:13 EDT 2013 Anonymous SOLANA BEACH, CA
15471 Wed Mar 20 09:47:20 EDT 2013 Carolyn Lilly San Diego, CA
15470 Sat Mar 09 02:20:40 EST 2013 Anonymous OR Who told Reagan that we could advertise to children in the first place and how does this hinder capitalism?
15469 Wed Mar 06 08:32:29 EST 2013 Patrick GROSSIN ot Commercial ads are a tremendous threat for everyone. We must stop them.
15468 Mon Feb 18 00:12:25 EST 2013 Elainne Fulenwider Maize, KS
15467 Fri Feb 08 19:28:37 EST 2013 Elizabeth Thompson Metuchen, NJ
15466 Wed Feb 06 18:49:08 EST 2013 Anonymous Spirit Lake, ID
15465 Wed Jan 16 15:55:55 EST 2013 Russell Sladek PA
15464 Sat Dec 29 15:24:07 EST 2012 Mary Holm Burbank, CA
15463 Wed Dec 05 18:24:11 EST 2012 Barry Moore Montclair, NJ
15462 Tue Nov 20 19:21:56 EST 2012 Christina Fermin west park, FL
15461 Fri Nov 16 01:18:23 EST 2012 Marjorie Young Santa Fe, NM Absolutely right! No commercial ads in schools!
15460 Tue Nov 13 21:27:18 EST 2012 Mary Kathleen Jackson Hammond, IN
15459 Mon Nov 05 11:43:24 EST 2012 Casey Pittman Coppell, TX
15458 Sun Nov 04 19:40:21 EST 2012 Ram Thothadri Richardson, TX
15457 Sun Nov 04 00:56:28 EDT 2012 Howard Cohen Palo Alto, CA
15456 Fri Nov 02 19:58:44 EDT 2012 Leo Gonzalez Los Angeles, CA
<- Prev Next ->

© Public Citizen. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation. Learn more about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.