Don’t Let Congress Shut Down the Office of Congressional Ethics

Sign the Petition to Speaker John Boehner and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi to Re-Authorize Congress’ In-House, Independent Ethics Watchdog

The Office of Congressional Ethics (OCE) is charged with making sure that representatives in the U.S. House who violate ethics rules are investigated and held accountable.

Instead of being staffed by currently sitting lawmakers (who have an inherent self-interest in turning a blind eye to all but the most egregious violations), the OCE is staffed by a bipartisan board of private citizens.

Re-authorizing the OCE is easy – it does not require the passage of new legislation.

All Speaker Boehner and Minority Leader Pelosi have to do is re-authorize the OCE in the rules for the next Congress and appoint four new board members (two each) to replace the four outgoing members whose terms expire at the end of this month.

Add Your Name to the Petition Below to Urge Boehner and Pelosi to Re-Authorize and Appoint New Board Members to the OCE.


We, the undersigned, call on House Speaker John Boehner and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi to re-authorize and appoint new board members to the Office of Congressional Ethics. With the public’s trust in Congress near an all-time low, ensuring lawmakers are held to a high ethical standard will go far toward restoring the American public’s faith in the House of Representatives.

Spread the Word

share on Facebook

A photograph of Speaker John BoehnerA photograph of Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi

Join Our Social Networks

This petition is no longer active.
201-225 of 17301 signatures
Number Date Name Add a Comment
17101 Tue Dec 18 02:29:20 EST 2012 Peter Reynolds
17100 Tue Dec 18 01:49:43 EST 2012 Chad Bisk
17099 Tue Dec 18 00:55:53 EST 2012 Anonymous
17098 Tue Dec 18 00:12:58 EST 2012 Sandra Denuto
17097 Mon Dec 17 23:54:41 EST 2012 Keith Bernhard This is vital for good government.
17096 Mon Dec 17 23:05:09 EST 2012 Laura Huddlestone
17095 Mon Dec 17 21:51:55 EST 2012 David Hand
17094 Mon Dec 17 21:29:53 EST 2012 erin yarreobino
17093 Mon Dec 17 21:29:48 EST 2012 erin yarreobino
17092 Mon Dec 17 21:22:16 EST 2012 Lynn Cardiff
17091 Mon Dec 17 21:20:11 EST 2012 Robert Phelps
17090 Mon Dec 17 21:15:46 EST 2012 Cynthia Ballard
17089 Mon Dec 17 21:05:22 EST 2012 Connie Metcalf
17088 Mon Dec 17 20:30:45 EST 2012 Gerald Bukosky
17087 Mon Dec 17 20:28:50 EST 2012 M Coogan
17086 Mon Dec 17 20:28:02 EST 2012 Lindsay Swiatkowski
17085 Mon Dec 17 20:27:51 EST 2012 norm dauria
17084 Mon Dec 17 20:13:40 EST 2012 Dorothea Bowers
17083 Mon Dec 17 20:01:28 EST 2012 Michael Gutleber
17082 Mon Dec 17 19:03:06 EST 2012 Neil Cardew-Fanning
17081 Mon Dec 17 18:20:22 EST 2012 Myrna Fichtenbaum
17080 Mon Dec 17 18:20:22 EST 2012 Myrna Fichtenbaum
17079 Mon Dec 17 17:52:35 EST 2012 Dan Aurian-Blajeni
17078 Mon Dec 17 17:49:34 EST 2012 Richard
17077 Mon Dec 17 17:43:37 EST 2012 Michelle Michaels-Tyner
<- Prev Next ->

© Public Citizen. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation. Learn more about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.