Revoke HSBC’s Corporate Charter

Tell Maryland Attorney General Doug Gansler There Should Be No Such Thing as “Too Big To Jail”

By refusing to prosecute global banking behemoth HSBC for laundering hundreds of millions of dollars on behalf of alleged terrorists in the Middle East and drug cartels in Mexico and Colombia, the Department of Justice is sending the message that Big Banks are above the law.

The evidence against London-based HSBC – the third largest bank in the world, with more than $2.5 trillion in assets – was overwhelming. But, instead of pursuing criminal charges, the Justice Department simply fined HSBC $1.9 billion – which sounds like a lot, until you realize that’s only about a month’s worth of profit for the bank.

HSBC’s slap on the wrist is a slap in the face to anyone who believes that there should be no such thing as “too big to jail.”

Join Public Citizen in calling for punishment that could actually deter corporate crime:

Demand justice. Add your name to the petition to revoke HSBC’s corporate charter.

PETITION TO MARYLAND ATTORNEY GENERAL DOUG GANSLER

 

We, the undersigned, call on you to use your authority to forfeit HSBC’s corporate charter. HSBC is a large corporation, but should enjoy no special privilege because of its size. A Maryland corporate charter should signal integrity, and we ask that you uphold this standard.

Why Petition Maryland's Attorney General?

The US division of HSBC is chartered in the state of Maryland. Under Maryland law, the attorney general has the power to forfeit a company’s corporate charter as punishment for engaging in organized crime. Charter forfeiture would represent a strong new tool states could use to enforce the integrity of corporate behavior.

Spread the Word


share on Facebook

Learn More

 


Join Our Social Networks

This petition is no longer active.
26-50 of 39116 signatures
Number Date Name Add a Comment
39091 Thu May 15 18:15:51 EDT 2014 Anonymous
39090 Sun May 11 15:04:32 EDT 2014 Donald K Bare I don't think that any Corporation , big, or small, should be above the Law, and should do jail time, or have thier business License pulled.
39089 Fri May 02 13:44:05 EDT 2014 Kim Bryant It's unbelievable that the Justice Department has not pursued criminal charges against HSBC and the senior officers. Our banking industry would be much stronger if the banks who conducted criminal activity More....
39088 Wed Apr 30 17:10:46 EDT 2014 Traci A Bunn Do the right thing!
39087 Thu Apr 24 12:35:16 EDT 2014 Shelby Burton
39086 Wed Apr 16 12:46:54 EDT 2014 Brian Martin
39085 Mon Apr 14 19:54:26 EDT 2014 Anonymous
39084 Wed Apr 09 00:24:25 EDT 2014 Carol Shiro
39083 Mon Apr 07 14:42:36 EDT 2014 Alexis Maestre-Saborit
39082 Sat Apr 05 00:30:08 EDT 2014 Misty Breaux
39081 Tue Mar 25 23:55:03 EDT 2014 DONNA WARNER NO ONE SHOULD BE ABOVE THE LAW
39080 Sat Mar 22 18:02:01 EDT 2014 Roseann DeLuca
39079 Sat Mar 15 22:53:25 EDT 2014 william gawne jr
39078 Wed Feb 26 19:00:24 EST 2014 Anonymous We need many more pro-economic and healthcare justice, nonelitest, strongly-adversarial-to-rightwingers, pro-farming and natural tourism,clean energy oriented NewDEAL democrat alliance, coaltion democrats More....
39077 Tue Feb 25 23:12:39 EST 2014 Anonymous
39076 Mon Feb 24 09:33:13 EST 2014 Susan Sanocki
39075 Mon Feb 24 09:33:01 EST 2014 Susan Sanocki
39074 Sun Feb 23 16:34:49 EST 2014 Vicki Bianchi Even more insulting is that this pittance of a fine will now be even less because it is tax deductable. At least give us the illusion of justice and close this tax loop hole.
39073 Fri Feb 21 22:48:01 EST 2014 Janis Barns
39072 Fri Feb 21 00:53:09 EST 2014 Anonymous
39071 Sun Feb 16 12:12:21 EST 2014 Deanna Tachna
39070 Sat Feb 15 23:43:31 EST 2014 Jess Graffell
39069 Wed Feb 12 13:54:55 EST 2014 Paul Masulis
39068 Tue Feb 04 13:26:27 EST 2014 Anonymous I dont't think that HSBC (The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation) should be allowed to operate in the USA at all if they are exempt from many of the same regulations and rules that USA Banks More....
39067 Sun Feb 02 19:47:07 EST 2014 Alyssa Paulson
<- Prev Next ->