Climate and Energy Initiatives



 Join Our Social Networks

   

Tell the Super Congress to Cut Fossil Fuel Subsidies


 

11/21/2011 Update: The deficit reduction supercommittee failed to reach an agreement on a plan to reduce our national debt.  As a result, the oil and gas industry will hold on to billions in tax credits.

The deficit reduction supercommittee has a November 23 deadline to finish its work. One of the first places lawmakers should look for cuts is the dirty energy sector.

Eliminating these subsidies would shave $122 billion off our deficit over the next 10 years – and would improve the environment and public health.

Fossil fuel subsidies are a commonsense place to make cuts.

Beyond helping reduce our deficit, eliminating dirt energy subsidies is crucial to shifting us toward a clean energy future.

Sign the Petition to the Super Congress

We, the undersigned, call on the 12-member Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction to end fossil fuel subsidies.

Eliminating subsidies to the fossil fuels industry could reduce our national debt by $122 billion over ten years while bettering the environment and public health. Wealthy fossil fuel corporations simply do not need handouts from the federal government to produce energy.

With our country facing massive cuts on programs like education and health care, we cannot afford to waste tens of billions of dollars each year in giveaways to fossil fuel companies. By eliminating these handouts we take an important step towards putting our house in fiscal order and helping the environment at the same time.

Add Your Name to the Petition Below

This petition is no longer active.
1-25 of 5798 signatures
Number Date Name Add a Comment
5798 Sat May 12 09:20:40 EDT 2012 Linda Rust
5797 Sun Apr 29 21:35:33 EDT 2012 Anonymous
5796 Thu Apr 26 17:57:53 EDT 2012 Steve Hamm
5795 Fri Apr 13 22:58:18 EDT 2012 Anonymous
5794 Fri Mar 16 12:06:26 EDT 2012 lyle davidson Represent the common good, not the financial well-being of the fossil fuel companies. Oil is now the number one US export; oil companies are closing refineries in the US to ensure that the cost of fuel More....
5793 Tue Mar 06 22:30:02 EST 2012 Camilla Bowman Do the right thing. Protect our health and invest in jobs, with cleaner results, and quit being bribed by the Big Oil thieves. Follow the lead of Consumer Reports, not being biased by outside interests. More....
5792 Thu Mar 01 08:55:39 EST 2012 Gale Wheat Stop giving the most destructive companies in the world taxpayer money.
5791 Wed Feb 08 17:53:19 EST 2012 Alexander Bryant It is demeaning to adults that these childish tricks go on. Imagine my surprise in growing up that I was expected to be a mature, thoughtful adult when those that profit the most are rewarded by embracing More....
5790 Sat Jan 28 13:12:36 EST 2012 Anthony Kalnoky STOP Taxpayer Welfare to Most Profitable Companies in the World
5789 Fri Jan 20 12:34:50 EST 2012 Anonymous
5788 Thu Jan 19 12:45:17 EST 2012 Anonymous do these "handouts" control the price of what we pay at the pump? ... because if the government is actually - or in essence - paying $2/gallon on my behalf. well ...

but otherwise, I'd prefer More....
5787 Wed Jan 18 19:46:18 EST 2012 Ellen Wasfi
5786 Sat Jan 07 16:37:56 EST 2012 Marv Fried
5785 Thu Jan 05 01:06:18 EST 2012 Carley Broder
5784 Wed Jan 04 18:12:46 EST 2012 Lee Evans
5783 Mon Jan 02 10:48:12 EST 2012 Natasha Brenner
5782 Fri Dec 30 17:31:18 EST 2011 Israel Valdez
5781 Thu Dec 29 23:50:48 EST 2011 Patrick D. Lesher
5780 Tue Dec 27 00:00:40 EST 2011 M.G. Carbone Dont Republicans smell and taste and see the same polluted air and water as the rest of us?
5779 Sun Dec 25 21:58:15 EST 2011 Brian Whitledge
5778 Sun Dec 25 07:54:37 EST 2011 Matt Malina
5777 Sat Dec 24 04:44:51 EST 2011 Carley Broder
5776 Wed Dec 21 22:20:44 EST 2011 Jennifer Hang
5775 Wed Dec 21 18:32:38 EST 2011 James Stolz Record profits by oil co's Warrants ending tax breaks
5774 Wed Dec 21 17:41:28 EST 2011 JOHN LA VEGLIA
Next ->

© Public Citizen. This Web site is shared by Public Citizen Inc. and Public Citizen Foundation. Learn more about the distinction between these two components of Public Citizen.